ISBF awards will be given in person on November 13, 2024 at the ISBF’s annual meeting, Biofabrication 2024. The 2024 ISBF Awards Program recognizes our society members with distinguished achievements and rising stars. In addition to the ISBF-sponsored awards, the Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine (WFIRM) Young Investigator Award, recognizing early-stage researchers, and the IOP best poster award will also be announced at the 2024 ISBF Awards Ceremony. All eligible individuals are encouraged to apply. Details are posted on the ISBF and Biofabrication 2024 conference websites.


Alpine Winter School for Biofabrication 2024

The Alpine Winter School for Biofabrication 2024 will take place in Radstadt, Austria from January 10-12, 2024. Abstract submission open here:

2024 Biofabrication Conference

The 2024 Biofabrication Conference will be hosted by Prof. Koichi Nakayama in Fukuoka, Japan from November 10-13, 2024. Sponsorship & exhibition opportunities are available:

2023 ISBF Award Winners

The ISBF Awards Committee is pleased to announce the 2023 Award winners. The award categories include A) Senior Investigator Award, B) ISBF’s Mid-Career Investigator, C) ISBF’s Professional Development award, D) Travel Awards, E) WFIRM Young Investigator Award, F) Best Oral Presentations, G) Best Poster Presentations, and H) IOP Best Poster Award. The awards were presented at the Biofabrication 2023 Conference in Canada. The winners of the ISBF awards are shown below.

  Award Winner
1 ISBF Senior Investigator Award James J. Yoo, MD, PhD, Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine, USA
2 ISBF Mid-Career Award Riccardo Levato, PhD, Utrecht University and Regenerative Medicine Center, The Netherlands
3 ISBF Professional Development Award

Grissel Trujillo de Santiago, PhD, Tecnologico de Monterrey, Mexico

4 ISBF Early Career Investigator Award

Ali Doryab, PhD, Helmholtz Zentrum München, Germany

Liqun Ning, PhD, Cleveland State University, USA

5 WFIRM Young Investigator Award Hitendra Kumar, PhD, University of Calgary, Canada
6 Best Oral Presentations

David Kilian, Stanford University, USA

Betty Cai, Stanford University, USA

Stefan Pendlmayr, Aarhus University, Denmark

7 Best Poster Presentations

Hannah Mcdowell, Northwestern University, USA

Tomoki Asaba, Yokohama National University, Japan

Paula Büttner, University Hospital Würzburg, Germany

8 IOP Best Poster Award

Tatsuhiko Hidaka, Yokohama National University, Japan

9 ISBF Travel Award

Irene Chiesa, University of Pisa, Italy

Eva Schaetzlein, Technical University Darmstadt, Germany

Abhishek Indurkar, Riga Technical University, Latvia

Dong Gyu Hwang, Pohang University of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea

Laura Veenendaal, University of Otago, New Zealand

Uijung Yong, Pohang University of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea

Hitendra Kumar, University of Calgary, Canada

DeShea Chasko, University of Oregon, USA

Javier Vazquez Armendariz, Tecnologico de Monterrey and Ohio State University, Mexico and USA

10 MDPI Travel Awards

Dayoon Kang, Pohang University of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea

Camilla Mussoni, University of Würzburg, Germany